LSPU Hall Photo by Paddy Barry

Resource Centre for the Arts:

Profile of The Organization

Resource Centre for the Arts operates from the historic LSPU Hall (so named as it was formerly owned by the Longshoremen’s Protective Union), affectionately referred to as The Hall – which houses a 175-198 seat theatre and a bar/Cox & Palmer Second Space Performance Room, in the heart of downtown St. John’s, Newfoundland.

RCA Mission Statement (Parent Organization)

The Resource Centre for the Arts (RCA) aims to provide accessible, supportive and well-resourced programs and venues, with a primary focus on the creation, development, and advancement of the performing arts in Newfoundland and Labrador.

RCA Theatre Company Mandate

RCA Theatre Company (RCAT) provides resources and a supportive environment for the production and promotion of theatre in St. John’s and throughout Newfoundland and Labrador.

A Concise History

RCA was created in 1979 as an artist-run, community-based organization that fosters the development and showcasing of Newfoundland art and artists. RCA boasts impressive accomplishments including:

  • 1976 – The building was bought by the Resource Foundation for the Arts (RFA).
  • 1984 – The Hall was renovated with an eye to enhancing its heritage features. For this, RCA received the 1984 Southcott Award from the Newfoundland Heritage Foundation.
  • 2008 – The Hall underwent a 2.4 million dollar renovation, funded in part by the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage and the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador, and the City of St. John’s.
  • 2010 – The LSPU Hall once again opened its doors to artists and the public with new and improved performance space, brand new theatre seats, dressing rooms, office space, box office system, air conditioning and upgraded accessibility features.
  • 1976-2019 – More than 150 original Mainstage productions
  •  A long list of professional artists who have gone on to national prominence including Mary Walsh, Rick Mercer, Greg Thomey, Cathy Jones, Andy Jones, Bob Joy, Ron Hynes, Mark Critch, Jonny Harris, Susan Kent, Mark O’Brien, Sherry White, Robert Chafe and Jillian Keiley.
  • An equally long list of artists who remain committed to the Newfoundland and Labrador cultural milieu including Lois Brown, Joel Hynes, Ruth Lawrence, Des Walsh, Chris Brookes, Edward Riche, Charlie Tomlinson and Berni Stapleton.
  • Hundreds of emerging artists who have been given the opportunity to “find their voice” and develop their creative talents.

RCA Ongoing Activities

Include Mainstage Productions, Significant Other Series(SOS), Theatre Arts Workshop(TAW), New Play Development and Artist Programs as well as Presentation of Canadian plays, administered through The Department of Canadian Heritage.

Other Relevant Information

RCA Theatre Company is a member of the Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT) and The Association of Professional Theatres of Newfoundland and Labrador (APTNL). Resource Centre for The Arts is a member of The St. John’s Board of Trade, and is governed by an elected Board of twelve (12) Directors made up of arts practitioners, artists and other professionals.

Land Acknowledgement

We respectfully acknowledge the territory in which we gather as the ancestral homelands of the Beothuk, and the island of Newfoundland as the ancestral homelands of the Mi’kmaq and Beothuk. We would also like to recognize the Inuit of Nunatsiavut and NunatuKavut and the Innu of Nitassinan, and their ancestors, as the original people of Labrador. We strive for respectful relationships with all the peoples of this province as we search for collective healing and true reconciliation and honour this beautiful land together.